February 15th, 2021

Hi Readers!

I finally finished watching Sonderland and Netflix’s Bridgerton this week, and now I’m feeling that empty hole in my life that needs to be filled, and I’m sure a lot of you are feeling that as well. To help you get through the wait whilst they film season 2, here are some books that reminds me the Bridgerton.

The Bridgerton Books by Julia Quinn

This is an obvious one. But if you’ve only watched the TV show you have to know that it is in fact based on an eight book historical romance series. Each book follows a different Bridgerton sibling and they all have similar tropes of hate to love or forbidden romances. They’re a lot of fun, I’d highly recommend.

The first season of Bridgerton is based on The Duke and I, but there is also The Viscount Who Loves Me, An Offer From a Gentleman, Romancing Mister Bridgerton, To Sir Phillip, With Love, When He Was Wicked, It’s In His Kiss and On The Way To The Wedding.

Rokesbys Series by Julia Quinn

This is a prequel series to The Bridgertons following the romantic endeavors of the generation before Daphne and her siblings. The first book follows Billie Bridgerton, who would be Daphne’s aunt (her fathers older sister). So if you’ve finished the Bridgerton series but are dying for me, give these a go.

It’s still ongoing, but so far we have Because of Miss Bridgerton, The Girl with the Make-Believe Husband, The Other Miss Bridgerton and First Comes Scandal (just published last year).

Jane Austen

If you fell in love with the regency era whilst watching Bridgerton then you need a bit of Austen in your life. Her writing is equisite and has all the balls, gossip and matchmaking that Bridgerton has. I actually see The Duke and I (which is the book the first series is based on) as a Pride and Prejudice retelling. Although I’m sure Austen would be scandalised by what the characters get up to…

Luxe by Anna Godberson

If it’s the gossip girl vibes you enjoyed, than this series following the high society of the New York scene in the late 19th century is one you should give a go. We follow the young New York societals as they party till dawn and find themselves embralled in scandals and messy hook ups.

Tessa Dare’s Books

I haven’t actually read any of these myself, but if you want more tropey historical romance books I’ve heard great things about her Castles Ever After series.

Vanity Fair by William Thackery

Set in the same time period, Daphne Bridgerton, Becky Sharp (Vanity Fair) and Elizabeth Bennett (Pride and Prejudice) could have been attending the same balls and trying to snatch up the same eligible bachelors. This books follows Becky as she tries to climb her way up the ranks of society in the most devious of ways. The ITV adaptation of this even stars Claudia Jessie, who plays everyones favourite Bridgerton Eloise.

Longbourn by Jo Baker

If you’re more interested in what’s happening downstairs and want an inside look into the life of a servant, give this retelling of Pride and Prejudice a try. After reading this book, you will feel a lot of sympathy for those maids and carriage drivers!

The Selection by Kiera Cass

Soon to be a Netflix film itself, The Selection is all about the Prince of a dystopian kingdom finding a match amongst a group of thiry-five girls. Think Bridgerton meets The Bachelor meets The Hunger Games.

Bringing Down The Duke by Evie Dunmore

If your favourite character in Bridgerton was Eloise, then a more feminist historical romance might be just what you’re looking for. This one follows Annabelle, the daughter of a destitute vicar and among the first cohort of female students admitted to Oxford University where she finds herself become highly involved in the rising female suffrage movement.

A Lady’s Guide To Mischief and Mayhem by Manda Collins

What if Lady Whistledown didn’t just report on societal gossip, but also murder? In 1865 Lady Katherine Bascomb is Englands most norotious newspaper columnist and thinks it’s her mission to report on the nefarious and deadly criminals who prey on the fairer sex, when she witnesses a murder herself.

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

If you want more of the ‘fake dating’ trope then there is a whole library for you to read, but To All The Boys is my personal favourite.

Hopefully these books will help get us all through the wait for season 2 of Bridgerton!

Thanks For Reading,
Jess X

7 responses to “11 Books To Read If You Enjoyed Netflix’s Bridgerton”

  1. I just got sucked into the historical fiction world and I actually just started this show! Will definitely be bookmarking this post for later!

    Like

  2. I’m really looking forward to reading the Bridgerton books! Remind me to return to this list when I have, haha. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. […] Jess @ Comfort Reads recommends 11 books to read if you liked Bridgerton. […]

    Like

  4. […] @ Comfort Reads Book Blog shares Book Recommendations based on Netflix's Bridgerton Marie @ Drizzle & Hurricane Books shares Ways to Support Book […]

    Like

  5. […] to soothe my craving for regency novels. So, I was very happy when I saw that Jess made a list of 11 books to read after watching Bridgerton!! I’ve seen so many of these, but I think that hers (over at her blog Comfort Reads) was one […]

    Like

  6. Jamie @BubblyBooks Avatar
    Jamie @BubblyBooks

    ooh fab list!!! I read the Luxe series back in high school and LOVED them! The selection is another fabulous series and I loved A rogue of ones own by Evie Dunmore SO much 🙂 The bridgetons was such a good netflix series and I cannot wait for season 2 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  7. […] to soothe my craving for regency novels. So, I was very happy when I saw that Jess made a list of 11 books to read after watching Bridgerton!! I’ve seen so many of these, but I think that hers (over at her blog Comfort Reads) was one […]

    Like

Leave a comment

Trending