December 1st, 2020

Banner

Hi Readers!

Finally, it’s December! Welcome to the first day of Blogmas! No word of a lie, I have been looking forward to this months TBR since March when I first got the urge to basically return to childhood.

I did a post a few years ago where I talked about my reading journey. But in short I’ve been an avid reader since I was about 9 or 10. Some of the first books I remember reading where Enid Blyton, Jaqueline Wilson and also childrens classics like Peter Pan and What Katy Did.

There’s something so perfect about reading childrens books around Christmas. It brings back such comforting and happy memories and that’s what I’m hoping for with this TBR. A lot of these I read as a kid but I also have some that are completely new to me but I’ve seen people really enjoy recently.

// The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgsen Burnett //

This book was such a huge part of my childhood. I used to borrow my Nan’s copy of this (which I believe belonged to her Mum) and we used to watch the movie together. I have a lot of happy memories attatched to this beautiful story. I can’t wait to revisit them this December.

// Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie //

Another one I read when I was a kid. This one I borrowed from my schools library and I just remember falling in love with it. This is a classic and I’m sure you all know the story, but I haven’t actually read this in years so I’m excited to see what I’ve forgotten.


// Alice’s Adventures In Wonderland by Lewis Carroll //

I just love getting transported to wonderland by Lewis Carroll’s whimsical writing. It’s been a couple of years since I read this and it’s sequel ‘Through the Looking Glass’ and I just think December is the perfect time to reread them.


// The Wonderful Wizard Of Oz by L. Frank Baum //

This is the only one on this list I’ve never actually read. I saw the film fully for the first time last Christmas and I’ve been curious ever since to see how it differs from the book.



// The Chronicals of Narnia by C.S. Lewis //

I’ve read The Magicians Nephew and of course The Lion, The Witch And the Wardrobe, but I still haven’t actually finished reading this series. I don’t have huge expectations as I have seen a lot of criticism about this series portrayal of religion, but I’m still curious none the less.

// Heidi by Johanna Spyri //

I remember loving this book as a kid, but a lot of the story has escaped my memory. I believe it’s about an orphan girl in the Swiss Alps who moves in with her reclusive uncle? That could all be wrong but I want it to be a surprise!


// Roald Dahl //

I loved reading The Witches by him earlier this year and now I’m craving for more! I’m going to reread my three favourites from when I was a child, which were Matilda, Boy and Charlie And The Chocolate Factory.


// Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery //

I lied, I haven’t read two of these books, and this is the other one! I did give it a go a couple of years ago but I just didn’t click with it. But I still hear nothing but good things about it, so I figured it’s worth giving it another shot.

// My Sister Jodie by Jacqueline Wilson //

I think, if I had to pick a pivotal book that changed my perspective of reading forever, I would choose this one! It was the first ‘young adult’ book I read, the first book that made me cry, my first of many Jacqueline Wilson books. After I read this book when I was 10, I just couldn’t get my hands on enough books. I haven’t read it in years. I’m so excited to return to it!

// Shadow Forest by Matt Haig //

I first read this book when I was 10. I had just gotten into properly reading thanks to My Sister Jodie and then our class took part in the Smarties award and this book was one of the picks (it went on to win!) This is another pretty sad one. Apparently I’ve always just liked sad books!

Do you ever go back and reread your childhood favourites?

Thanks For Reading,
Jess X

7 responses to “December TBR | Returning To Childhood Favourites | Blogmas”

  1. Christmas feels like the best time to reread old favorites! This is such a fun idea (: I hope you love all these reads! ♥

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The secret garden was my absolute favourite growing up 💕 This tbr is such a lovely idea!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ugh, loved so many of these as a kid! I hope you let us know how you like Anne of Green Gables! That was always one of my FAVES. I have the boxed set, but have never made it all the way through the entire series because the last two books are about Anne’s children. I need to revisit though; I have a feeling I would appreciate the later books, which detail Anne’s adult life, more now that I am an adult.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This was such a cozy post!! Loved it 😍 And Matilda is amazing, I loved it growing up. I also really liked one named Esio Trot (by Roald Dahl as well) cause I thought it was very clever 😅

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I never read Esio Trot but I’m adding it to my list!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Trending