October 26th, 2020

Tester (1)

Published: 1983 by Scholastic
Genre: Fantasy
Age: Childrens
Length: 200 Pages
⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Hello Readers!

The Witches came to my attention this month mainly because of the new adaptation of it that has just been released starring Anne Hathaway and Octavia Spencer. Roald Dahl wasn’t an author I was into as a kid so I never read this nor have I seen the original, infamous movie based on it. But it was a pleasant surprise and I ended up really enjoying it.

What Is It About?

After the death of his parents, our narrator is put into the custody of his Norwedgian grandmother, who tells hi all about Witches. Throughout the book he discovers how Witches disguise themselves, and has a rather terrifying encounter with them himself.

What Did I Think?

Reading this for the first time as an adult, I’m surprised by how much I enjoyed it. But it was just fantastic and such a joy to read.

His writing has this magical way of making me feel like a kid again (even though now I’d be more likely the teacher reading the book to a class). I hate my teachers for never reading this book in class because there’s this wonderful moment in it, and I can just imagine classes all over the world gasping and starring at their teacher in horror because Roald Dahl just told them she could be a witch!

“She might even be your lovely school-teacher who is reading these words to you at this very moment. Look carefully at that teacher. Perhaps she is smiling at the absurdity of such a suggestion. Don’t let that put you off. It could be part of cleverness.”

Roald Dahl , The Witches

I found parts of this book also kind of spooky. I imagined how my 9 year old self would have reacted to this book and I think certain points could have potentially scared me. Especially the idea that witches make children disappear!

But despite the scary witches, like all Roald Dahl books, there’s also a lot of heart here and female characters you can trust and root for. I just love this quote…

“It doesn’t matter who you are or what you look like, so long as somebody loves you.”

Roald Dahl, The Witches

Overall Thoughts

This book made me wish I’d read more Roald Dahl as a kid, but even as an adult this was such an enjoyable read and I recommend it for all ages. I’m definitely going to pick up more books by him in the future.

It doesn’t matter what age you are, Roald Dahl is a must read.

Thanks For Reading,
Jess X

3 responses to “Book Review | The Witches by Roald Dahl”

  1. I used to listen to it on cassette when I was a kid 🙂 And the 1990 film was one of my favourites. Glad you liked reading the book.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What a lovely memory! I miss cassette tapes 😅

      Like

  2. […] by A.J. FinnVicious & Vengeful by V.E. SchwabThe Once & Future Witches by Alix E. HarrowThe Witches by Roald DahlFinal Girls by Riley SagerCemetery Boys by Aiden ThomasOne By One by Ruth […]

    Like

Leave a comment

Trending